An official website of the United States government

December 5, 2021

Omicron Variant: Updated COVID-19 Travel Restrictions to the United States

On November 26, 2021, President Biden issued a new Presidential Proclamation (P.P.) entitled “A Proclamation on the Suspension of Entry as Immigrants and Nonimmigrants of Certain Additional Persons Who Pose a Risk of Transmitting Coronavirus Disease 2019.”

Beginning at 12:01 a.m. EST on November 29, 2021, the following suspension of entry for noncitizens into the United States will go into effect. If you have travelled to or have been present in the following countries within the past 14 days (or plan to do so), please cancel and reschedule your NIV appointment:

Botswana, Eswatini, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa, Zimbabwe